

45th International Symposium on

Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science

August 24-28, 2020, Prague (Czech Republic)



The MFCS conference series has been organized since 1972. Traditionally, the conference moved between the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Poland, while since 2013, the conference travels around Europe. In 2020, it will come back to **Prague, Czech Republic**. MFCS is a high quality venue for original research in all branches of theoretical computer science.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, with the notification we will ask all authors how likely they are to come for a physical meeting to Prague as originally planned. Based on this feedback the conference will be either held physically (with an option of remote participation and a reduced conference fee for those who cannot attend) or completely virtually. Either way the publication of the conference proceedings will go forward as usual.

Important Dates

• Submission deadline: Monday, May 4, 2020 (AoE)

• Notification: Monday, June 20, 2020

• Workshops: August 28–29, 2020

• Main conference: August 24-28, 2020

Deadlines are firm; late submissions will not be considered

Invited Speakers

- Nathalie Bertrand (INRIA, Rennes)
- Sergio Cabello (Ljubljana)
- Subhash Khot (NYU)
- Parthasarathy Madhusudan (UIUC)
- Mary Wootters (Stanford)

Topics

We encourage submission of original research papers in all areas of theoretical computer science, including (but not limited to) the following:

- algebraic and co-algebraic methods in computer science
- algorithms and data structures
- automata and formal languages
- bioinformatics
- combinatorics on words, trees, and other structures
- computational complexity (structural and model-related)
- computational geometry
- computer-aided verification
- computer-assisted reasoning
- concurrency theory
- cryptography and security
- databases and knowledge-based systems
- formal specifications and program development
- foundations of computing
- logics in computer science
- mobile computing
- models of computation
- networks (incl. wireless, sensor, ad-hoc networks)
- parallel and distributed computing
- semantics and verification of programs
- theoretical issues in artificial intelligence
- types in computer science

Organizing committee

- Andreas Emil Feldmann
- Michal Koucký (chair)Michal Opler
- CONFORG, s.r.o.

Submission and Proceedings

Papers should be submitted electronically through EasyChair.

MFCS proceedings are published in the Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs) series. This is a series of high-quality conference proceedings across all fields in informatics established in cooperation with Schloss Dagstuhl - Leibniz Center for Informatics. LIPIcs volumes are published according to the principle of Open Access, i.e., they are available online and free of charge.

Submissions should be be formatted using the LIPIcs style with length not exceeding 12 pages (excluding references and an optional appendix). References and an optional appendix can go beyond the 12 pages (the appendix will be consulted at the discretion of the program committee). It is mandatory to use the LIPIcs style for submissions.

No prior publication or simultaneous submission to other conferences or journals are allowed (except preprint repositories such as arXiv or workshops without formal published proceedings).

Program Committee

Mohamed Faouzi Atig (Uppsala)

Giorgio Bacci (Aalborg)

Christel Baier (TU Dresden)

Paolo Baldan (Padova)

Michael Blondin (Sherbrooke)

Brona Brejová (Comenius University)

Krishnendu Chatterjee (IST Austria)

Mahdi Cheraghchi (Ann Arbor)

Thomas Colcombet (IRIF, Paris)
Wojciech Czerwiński (Warsaw)

Matthias Englert (Warwick)

Javier Esparza (TU Munich, co-chair)

Felix Fischer (QMUL)

Fedor Fomin (Bergen)

Marco Gaboardi (Boston University)

Jakub Gajarský (TU Berlin)

Heng Guo (Edinburgh)

Matthew Hague (RHUL)

Pavel Hubáček (Charles University)

Ar<mark>tur Jeż (Wro</mark>claw)

Na<mark>oki Kobayas</mark>hi (Tokyo)

Barbara König (Duisburg-Essen)

Lukasz Kowalik (Warsaw)

Dan Kráľ (Masaryk University and Warwick, co-chair)

Stefan Mengel (CNRS, CRIL)

Dirk Nowotka (Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel)

Zuzana Patáková (IST Austria)

Thomas Place (LaBRI, Bordeaux)

Gabriele Puppis (Udine)

Mickael Randour (FNRS, Mons)

Albert Rubio (UPC Barcelona)

Krishna S (IIT Bombay)

Marie-France Sagot (INRIA Lyon)

Sylvain Schmitz (IRIF Paris)

Sebastian Siebertz (Bremen)
Bettina Speckmann (Eindhoven)

Till Tantau (Lübeck)

Iddo Tzameret (RHUL)

László Végh (LSE)

Mahesh Viswanathan (UIUC)

Bartosz Walczak (Jagiellonian University)

Georg Zetzsche (MPI-SWS)

Stanislav Živný (Oxford)





https://mfcs.mff.cuni.cz